Prince's Posthumous Album To Be Released With 14 New Songs

The tracklist has just been revealed and it includes original recordings of famous hits.

It has been over three years since Prince passed. Still, The Prince Estate, the company in charge of the rights of his songs, will release a new posthumous album with 14 new songs. Simply named Originals, the album will first be released on TIDAL from June 7 till June 20 before Warner offers it to the world on June 21.

The tracks were selected by Troy Carter (entertainment advisor for Prince's estate) and Jay-Z are some written and composed by Prince for his proteges such as The Time, Sheil E., Vainity 6 and Jill JOnes. In addition to his personnal albums, Prince also had a major influence on many artists, and his compositions were largely broadcasted without the public realizing it. Among the biggest hits included in Originals is "The Glamorous Life" by Sheila E. (1984) and "Love… Thy Will Be Done" by Martika, a major hit in 1991.


Originals will also be the opportunity to discover 14 recordings of the wonderful voice of Prince Rogers Nelson, which were found in the archive of the vault of Warner Bros Records:

  1. Sex Shooter pour Apollonia 6 - 1984
  2. Jungle Love pour The Time - 1984
  3. Manic Monday pour The Bangles - 1985
  4. Noon Rendezvous pour Sheila E. - 1984
  5. Make-Up pour Vanity 6- 1982
  6. 100 MPH pour Mazarati - 1986
  7. You’re My Love pour Kenny Rogers - 1986
  8. Holly Rock pour Sheila E. (OST de Krush Groove) - 1985
  9. Baby, You’re a Trip pour Jill Jones - 1987
  10. The Glamorous Life pour Sheila E. - 1984
  11. Gigolos Get Lonely Too pour The Time - 1982
  12. Love… Thy Will Be Done pour Martika - 1991
  13. Dear Michaelangelo pour Sheila E. - 1985
  14. Wouldn’t You Love to Love Me? pour Taja Sevelle - 1987
  15. Nothing Compares 2 U pour The Family - 1985

The album Originals will be released on June 21 and can already be ordered at this address while the double 180 grams vinyl and the Deluxe limited edition of the CD+2LP will be available on July 19.


By Pierre Bazin, published on 25/04/2019


Pour vous :