Wu-Tang Clan To Remake Debut Album With 9 Modern MCs

In the rap universe, there are certain masterpieces that just about everyone can agree on. Wu-Tang Clan's debut album from November 1993, Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers), is one of them. To celebrate 25 years of the classic EP, the East Coast group is about to shake things up by remaking the entire disc with a group of MCs from the present day.

Steve Rifkind, co-founder of Loud Records (the label that launched artists like Wu-Tang Clan, Big Punisher and Mobb Deep), announced the news in an interview with XXL Magazine. "With Wu-Tang, we're gonna do a few things", he explained. "We're gonna remake the album with nine MCs from today and each new MC will play a character in the original 36 Chambers." Rifkind went on to note that there would be a "major tour" to mark the anniversary. 

As a reminder, the Clan was made up of nine MCs at the time of the album's release. For the moment, it's not clear who is going to be replacing RZA, GZA, Ol' Dirty Bastard, Method Man, Raekwon, Ghostface Killah, Inspectah Deck, U-God and Masta Kill. Here's hoping some of the original members will also make an appearance on updated versions of tracks like "C.R.E.A.M.", "Can It Be All So Simple" and "Wu-Tang Clan Ain't Nuthing ta Fuck Wit". We can't wait.

By J茅r茅mie L茅ger, published on 14/05/2018